8th Annual National Community College Peacebuilding Virtual Seminar

Friday &  Saturday

October 30 & 31, November 6 & 7, November 13 & 14, 2020

12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET 

11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. CT

10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. MT

9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PT

The Role of Community Colleges in Advancing Social Justice and Responding to Public Health Needs

Join us for the 8th Annual National Community College Peacebuilding Seminar

Since 2013, an annual gathering of educators and students interested in the critical role that community colleges play in higher education have met in the Washington, DC area to learn, share, and experience on a range of topics including peacebuilding, conflict, human rights, social justice, peace education, international affairs, and nonviolence. Due to the current pandemic, this year’s seminar will be held virtually using Zoom as a means of presenting and sharing.

The seminar will be held on three consecutive Fridays and Saturdays from 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time. The seminar will feature 12 – 45 minute sessions. Many will focus on social justice and public health issues within a peacebuilding context. This year’s seminar will be sponsored jointly by the Forage Center for Peacebuilding and Humanitarian Education, Inc., a 501c3 corporation advancing experiential-based learning about humanitarian and peacebuilding practices, and David J. Smith Consulting, LLC, a DC based consultancy. 

The agenda for the seminar is still under development and will be finalized and posted in early September.

For full-time and part-time educators, the registration fee will be $80.00 which must be paid in advance of the seminar.  Graduate students will be charged a fee of $25.00 for the seminar. Undergraduate (including community college) students will be able to attend free of charge (but be limited to specific sessions).

U.S. based educators for all sectors and international educators and students are invited to attend.

The seminar has been featured in Community College Daily, on Montgomery College TV, and in the NOVA Intercom.

Registration information will be available later in early September. In the meantime, if you are interested in attending contact Catherine Cousar at catherine@foragecenter.org and provide your name and institution.

Past Seminars
Seminar participants at George Mason University

7th Annual National Community College Peacebuilding Seminar

 

Visit to the U.S. Institute of Peace

6th Annual National Community College Peacebuilding Seminar

 

Seminar participants at Northern Virginia Community College (with Colman McCarthy)

5th Annual National Community College Peacebuilding Seminar

 

2018 Seminar at George Mason University

 

%d bloggers like this: